MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY
MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD IN THE
COUNCIL CHAMBER, WALLFIELDS,
HERTFORD ON WEDNESDAY 28
SEPTEMBER 2011, AT 7.00 PM

PRESENT:

Councillors M Alexander, D Andrews,
W Ashley, P Ballam, S Basra, E Bedford,
R Beeching, E Buckmaster, A Burlton,
M Carver, Mrs R Cheswright, K Crofton,
A Dearman, P Gray, L Haysey,
Mrs D Hollebon, Mrs D Hone, A Jackson,
G Jones, G Lawrence, J Mayes,
G McAndrew, M McMullen, P Moore,
W Mortimer, M Newman, T Page, P Phillips,
M Pope, R Radford, J Ranger, N Symonds,
J Taylor, A Warman, G Williamson, N Wilson,
J Wing, M Wood, C Woodward and
B Wrangles

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Simon Drinkwater - Director of

Neighbourhood

Services

Jeff Hughes - Head of

Democratic and Legal Support

Services

Martin Ibrahim - Senior Democratic

Services Officer

Alan Madin - Director of Internal

Services

Lois Prior - Head of Strategic

Direction (shared)

and

Communications

Manager

George A Robertson - Director of

Customer and

Community Services

321 HONORARY ALDERMEN

Council recalled that, at its meeting held on 21 February 2007 (Minute 609 refers), a procedure for the award of the title of Honorary Alderman was approved. The role of Honorary Aldermen would be to support the work of the Chairman's Charity and promote civic pride in the District of East Hertfordshire and its Council. They would also be encouraged to attend all civic ceremonial events when invited and, with the Chairman's permission, assist in hosting receptions/functions.

Councillor A P Jackson moved and Councillor M Wood seconded a motion that, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former members of East Hertfordshire District Council:

- K Barnes
- R Copping
- A Dodd
- R Gilbert
- M Goldspink
- R Parker

After being put to the meeting, and a vote taken, the motion was CARRIED by the necessary two thirds majority.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former members of East Hertfordshire District Council:

- K Barnes
- R Copping
- A Dodd

- R Gilbert
- M Goldspink
- R Parker

After a few brief words by Councillor M Wood, Mr K Barnes received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor J Taylor, Mr N Copping received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor M Alexander, Mr A Dodd received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor A Jackson on behalf of Councillor J Demonti, Mr R Gilbert received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor M Wood, Mrs M Goldspink received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

After a few brief words by Councillor A Jackson, Mr R Parker received a framed certificate and a civic badge of office from the Chairman.

The meeting closed at 7.29 pm

Chairman	
Date	